Custody of consigned assets

  1. The Consignment Office is solely responsible for the custody of the consigned assets in view of their return to the right holders.

  2. The Consignment Office places in financial institutions in Luxembourg all consigned assets for which deposit accounts are normally open, such as amounts in national or foreign currency, securities or precious metals. With regard to deadlines, it takes into account its obligation to return the consigned assets within a reasonable time.

  3. The consigned assets other than those referred to in the previous paragraph are preserved unchanged in view of their return in kind to the right-holders. To this end, the Consignment Office can execute on its own right or through third parties, all administrative acts which it deems necessary.

  4. The amounts deriving from the loss of consigned assets are placed in accordance with paragraph (2).

  5. The custody charges of the consigned assets, including the Consignment Office charges as well as a consignment tax established on the basis of a rate to be fixed by Grand-Ducal regulation, are covered by annual charge on the proceeds and, failing that, on the profits of the consigned assets. The consignment tax cannot be set per year at less than 0.5% nor at more than 3% of the estimated value of the consigned assets.

 

Last update

Garde des biens consignés

  1. La caisse de consignation a seule la charge de garder les biens consignés en vue de leur restitution aux ayants droit.

  2. La caisse de consignation place auprès d’établissements financiers au Luxembourg tous les biens consignés pour lesquels des comptes de dépôt sont normalement ouverts, tels que des sommes en monnaie nationale ou étrangère, des titres ou des métaux précieux. Elle prend égard, quant au choix des échéances, à son obligation de restituer les biens consignés dans un délai raisonnable.

  3. Les biens consignés autres que ceux visés au paragraphe précédent, sont conservés inchangés en vue de leur restitution en nature aux ayants droit. A cet effet, la caisse de consignation peut faire par elle-même ou par des tiers, tous les actes d’administration qui lui paraissent nécessaires.

  4. Les sommes provenant de la perte de biens consignés sont placées conformément au paragraphe (2).

  5. Les frais de la garde des biens consignés, y compris les frais propres de la caisse de consignation ainsi qu’une taxe de consignation établie sur base d’un tarif à fixer par règlement grand-ducal, sont couverts par imputation annuelle sur les fruits et à défaut, les produits des biens consignés. La taxe de consignation ne peut être fixée par an à moins de 0,5% ni à plus de 3% de la valeur estimée des biens consignés.

Dernière mise à jour