Missions

Consignement Office

The Consignment Office section performs all assignments attributed by the 29 April 1999 law on State consignments.

Any asset to be consigned pursuant to a law, a regulation, a judicial or administrative decision must be consigned to the Consignment Office, in accordance with the provisions of the aforementioned law, notwithstanding any previous legal or regulatory provisions.

Any asset to be consigned voluntarily by a debtor to fulfill his obligation with respect to a creditor may be consigned to the Consignment office with discharging effect for the debtor, in accordance with the provisions of the aforementioned law, when the consignment takes place on the basis of articles 1257 to 1263 or 1264 of the Civil Code or when the debtor, without fault on his part, cannot be securely relieved of his obligation for reasons relating to the creditor.


Accounting

The Accounting section:

  • carries out the general and budgetary accounting of the State. To this end, it centralizes all revenue and expenditure operations of the State, as well as all movements on State accounts and all variations in the financial heritage of the State;
  • executes law enforcement on seizures, transfers and summons due by creditors to the State.


Financial management

The Financial Management section:

  • manages the State's financial assets and the State's financial commitments. To this end, it places funds available to the State Treasury in high-quality securities or financial instruments. The investment policy < 1 year is decided by the Minister having the State Treasury in his attributions upon advice of the Director of Treasury. The investment policy > 1 year is adopted by the Government meeting in council upon advice of the Minister having the State Treasury in his attributions. A Grand Ducal regulation may establish the terms and conditions to carry out investment operations;
  • ensures the management of funds and assets which conservation is assigned to the State by laws or regulations;
  • must be informed of the issuance of any financial guarantee by the State and of any acquisition by the State in the capital of an establishment, a company or an institution, may it be of private or public law, national or international. For this purpose, it manages the registry of guarantees granted by the State, of State’s shareholdings and of other financial assets. This registry indicates in particular the outstanding amount as well as the timeframe of the granted guarantees;
  • holds the securities pertaining to the State's shareholdings;
  • performs the accounting control on extraordinary accountants and on accountants of State services under separate management;
  • compiles, to the attention of the Minister having the State Treasury in his attributions, monthly and annual statements on the carried-out investments and on their returns, as well as on the development and cost of the public debt.


Paiyments and Collections

The Payments and Collections section:

  • ensures the payment of all State expenses, other than those paid directly by the extraordinary accountants and by the accountants of State services under separate management;
  • collects revenue stemming from treasury management and specific non-tax revenue, which can be assigned by the Minister having the Budget in his attributions;
  • centralizes all other State revenues;
  • checks the concordance of payments made to the State Treasury by public accountants of the Administration des contributions directes, of the Administration de l'enregistrement, des domaines et de la TVA and of the Administration des douanes et des accises, with the figures recorded in the monthly accounts of the aforementioned accountants.

Last update

Missions

Caisse de consignation

La section Caisse de consignation assure toutes les tâches découlant de la loi du 29 avril 1999 sur les consignations auprès de l'Etat.

Tout bien à consigner en vertu d’une loi, d’un règlement, d’une décision judiciaire ou administrative doit être consigné auprès de la caisse de consignation, conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi, nonobstant toutes dispositions légales ou réglementaires antérieures.

Tout bien à consigner volontairement par un débiteur pour se libérer à l’égard d’un créancier peut être consigné avec effet libératoire pour le débiteur auprès de la caisse de consignation, conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi, lorsque la consignation a lieu sur base des articles 1257 à 1263 ou 1264 du Code civil ou lorsque le débiteur, sans faute de sa part, ne peut se libérer en toute sécurité pour des raisons relatives au créancier.


Comptabilité

La section Comptabilité assure :

  • la tenue de la comptabilité générale et budgétaire de l'Etat. Pour ce faire, elle centralise l'intégralité des opérations de recettes et de dépenses de l'Etat ainsi que tous les mouvements de fonds sur les comptes de l'Etat et les variations du patrimoine financier de l'Etat.

  • l'exécution de la législation sur les saisies, cessions et sommations adressées par des créanciers à l'Etat.


Gestion financière

La section Gestion financière :

  • assure la gestion des avoirs financiers de l'Etat et des engagements financiers de l'Etat. A cette fin, elle place les fonds disponibles de la Trésorerie de l'Etat dans des titres ou instruments financiers de première qualité. La politique d'investissement < 1 an est décidée par le ministre ayant la trésorerie dans ses attributions sur avis du directeur du Trésor. La politique d'investissement > 1 an est arretée par le Gouvernement en conseil sur proposition du ministre ayant la trésorerie dans ses attributions. Un règlement grand-ducal peut établir les modalités et les conditions selon lesquelles s'opèrent les opérations de placement.

  • assure la gestion des fonds et des biens dont les lois ou règlements attribuent la conservation à l'Etat

  • doit être informée de toute émission d'une garantie financière par l'Etat et de toute prise de participation de l'Etat dans le capital d'un établissement, d'une société ou d'une institution de droit privé ou public, nationale ou internationale. Pour ce faire, elle tient les registres des garanties accordées par l'Etat, de ses participations et de ses autres avoirs financiers. Ce registre émarge notamment l'encours ainsi que l'échéancier des garanties accordées.

  • conserve les titres constatant les participations de l'Etat.

  • effectue le contrôle de la comptabilité des comptables extraordinaires et des comptables des services de l'Etat à gestion séparée

  • dresse, à l'intention du ministre ayant la trésorerie dans ses attributions, des états mensuels et annuels des placements effectués et de leurs rendements ainsi que de l'évolution et du coût de la dette publique


Paiements et recouvrements

La section Paiements et recouvrements :

  • assure le paiement de toutes les dépenses de l'Etat autres que celles payées directement par les comptables extraordinaires et les comptables des services de l'Etat à gestion séparée.

  • recouvre les recettes provenant de la gestion de la trésorerie et les recettes non fiscales spécifiques dont le ministre ayant le budget dans ses attributions peut la charger de les recouvrer.

  • centralise toutes les autres recettes de l'Etat

  • vérifie la conformité des versements effectués à la trésorerie de l'Etat par les comptables publics de l'administration des contributions directes, de l'administration de l'enregistrement et des domaines et de l'administration des douanes et accises avec les chiffres comptabilisés dans les comptes mensuels de ces comptables.
Dernière mise à jour