The administration

Historical background

 

In 1852, whilst voting the 9 January 1852 law on State accounting, the creation of a treasury service was deemed superfluous in light of the low activity in operations. The General Revenue (Recette générale) and the Finance department offices sufficiently performed the task at the time. In the 1930s, however, the need for a special independent body proved valuable. The 19 February 1931 law concerning the organisation of the Chamber of Accounts (Chambre des comptes) and the General Revenue established that henceforth the General Revenue would be attached to the Chamber of Accounts, except for the cash operations service and the custody of funds and titles. This service would remain entrusted to the Savings Bank under the name of General State Fund (Caisse générale de l’Etat).

Following the radical separation of cash and accounting operations introduced by the 1931 law, the creation of a special service had become indispensable. The studies then undertaken and the envisaged reform consisted in the creation of a treasury service within the attributions of the Finance department, overtaking in its duties the execution of all measures concerning the administration of State finances, as well as the management of general accounts, comprising budgetary and treasury accounts.

The new service became the liaison body among the Finance department, the General State Fund, State accountants and the Chamber of Accounts. This solution led to the integral adoption of a fundamental principle of public finance management gaged in a triple proposition:

  • only cash operations to funds;
  • treasury operations, with regular oversight of accountants’ activities, to the Finance department;
  • judicial and all-encompassing oversight of all financial services to the Chamber of Accounts.

These reflections led to the vote of the 27 July 1936 law on State accounting. The General Revenue service was henceforth divided into two distinct services:

  • the General State Fund, which remained entrusted to the Savings Bank: its services including all cash operations and the conservation of funds and securities;
  • the Treasury department responsible for treasury registries, general accounting of finances and oversight of the General State Fund management as well as State accountants.

Finally, pursuant to the 8 June 1999 law on the State Budget, Accounting and Treasury, the treasury service is finally reformed, giving birth to the current State Treasury. The General State Fund, which service had hitherto been ensured by the State and Savings Bank, is integrated in the State Treasury. Pursuant to this law, the State Treasury retains henceforward a key position in the new financial organisation.

Last update

L'administration

Historique

 

En 1852, lors du vote de la loi du 9 janvier 1852 sur la comptabilité de l’Etat, l’institution d’un service de Trésorerie avait été jugée superflue en présence de la faible importance des opérations. La Recette générale et les bureaux du département des finances suffisaient amplement à la tâche. Cependant, vers les années 1931, la nécessité d’un organisme spécial, indépendant de la caisse, s’avérait utile. La loi du 19 février 1931 concernant l'organisation de la Chambre des comptes et de la Recette générale statuait de sorte que dorénavant la Recette générale serait rattachée à la Chambre des comptes, sauf le service des opérations de caisse et de la conservation des fonds et des titres. Ce service resterait confié à la Caisse d’épargne sous la dénomination de Caisse générale de l’Etat.

A la suite de la séparation radicale des opérations de caisse et de comptabilité, opérée par la loi de 1931, la création d’un service spécial est devenue une nécessité inéluctable. Les études alors entreprises et la réforme envisagée consistaient dans la création d’un service de la Trésorerie relevant du département des finances et concentrant dans ses devoirs l’exécution de toutes les mesures concernant l’administration des finances de l’Etat, ainsi que la tenue d’une comptabilité générale, comprenant la comptabilité budgétaire et la comptabilité de la Trésorerie à la fois.

Le nouveau service sera l’organe de liaison entre le département des finances, la Caisse générale, les comptables de l’Etat et la Chambre des comptes. Cette solution vaudra la réalisation intégrale d’un principe fondamental de la gestion des finances publiques, s’analysant dans cette triple proposition :

  • aux caisses rien que les opération de caisse
  • au département des finances les opérations de la Trésorerie, avec le contrôle régulier des actes des comptables
  • à la Chambre des comptes le contrôle judicaire et supérieur de l’ensemble des services financiers

Toutes ces réflexions ont abouti au vote de la loi du 27 juillet 1936 concernant la comptabilité de l’Etat. Le service de la Recette générale était dès lors divisé en deux services distincts :

  • La Caisse générale, qui reste confiée à la Caisse d’Epargne. Ses services comprennent toutes les opérations de caisse et la conservation des fonds et des titres
  • Le service de la Trésorerie qui est chargé des écritures de la Trésorerie, de la comptabilité générale des finances et de la surveillance de la gestion de la Caisse générale et des comptables de l’Etat

Enfin, par la loi du 8 juin 1999 sur le Budget, la Comptabilité et la Trésorerie de l'Etat, le service de la Trésorerie est reformée est donne naissance à la Trésorerie de l’Etat actuelle. La Caisse générale de l’Etat, dont le service était assuré jusqu’ici par la Banque et Caisse d’Epargne de l’Etat, est intégrée dans la Trésorerie de l’Etat. Par cette loi, la Trésorerie de l’Etat occupe dès lors une position clé dans la nouvelle organisation financière.

Dernière mise à jour